A Veil

The Veil of Vulnerability 

A friend once told me that it’s just easier to stay away. It’s easier to distance yourself from people you truly care about and avoid attachment. It’s the best way to protect yourself and avoid drama in the long run.

Ummm, what?

Apparently, not caring is the way to go. I think I missed some sort of memo growing up that suggested to simply ‘go with the flow’ and forget about what doesn’t ‘work.’ Why put in effort into things that don’t seem to add up and magically fall into place? It’s clearly a sign from the universe telling you to ‘let things be.’

Again, what?

I’ve come to the conclusion that many of the young people I surround myself with are smart. They’re adventurous and unstoppable and it’s evident that nothing and no one can get in the way of whatever it is they strive to acquire. These individuals portray such a strong character that leads others to believe that nothing can face them; and nothing does—except vulnerability.

I think it’s safe to say that most people fear vulnerability. Makes sense. Nobody wants to feel weak. On the contrary, you want to feel in control.

Although at times I find myself wishing I were like that sometimes, carefree, I’d never want to distance myself to the point of leading others to believe that I don’t feel anything for them. Why should demonstrating what’s important to me be something I should even question to begin with?

Choosing to walk away is not the issue; it’s disappearing and/or pushing people away, for selfish reasons that upset me.

Everyone deals with things differently, especially when it comes to information overload. I get that. But this mentality of needing to act a certain, dry way because of the fear that comes with caring just seems a bit ridiculous.

We spend most of our lives anticipating the future. When things don’t go our way, most of the time (or ideally), we find Plan B.

I’m tired of us giving up on Plan A simply because it doesn’t work or it doesn’t seem feasible. I’m tired of listening to excuses regarding past experiences and people’s reasoning as to why they can’t allow themselves to open up.

Falling into the arms of vulnerability means allowing yourself to be selfless and being there despite your hurting. It’s acknowledging the fact that your actions impact others despite your ignorance to see past that. There’s a reason you’re the way you are, but there’s also a reason why those that stuck for as long as they did, refused to give up. Remember that.

“Don’t let the fear of striking out, keep you from playing the game.” –Babe Ruth

Leave a Reply

